News Release from windfair.net


Wind Industry Profile of

South Africa: Mainstream South Africa awarded ‘Preferred Developer 2015’ by SAWEA for a second consecutive year

The South African Wind Energy Association (SAWEA) has named Mainstream Renewable Power South Africa “Preferred Developer 2015” at its annual awards ceremony in Cape Town.

This accolade is in recognition of Mainstream South Africa continuing to develop and successfully deliver winning bids into the Government’s Renewable Energy Independent Power Producers Procurement Programme (REIPPPP). Mainstream was awarded 250 megawatts of projects in Round 4 of the programme which is in addition to the 600 megawatts it was awarded in the previous rounds.

Accepting the award from South Africa’s Minister of Energy: Tina Joemat-Pettersson, Mainstream’s CEO, Eddie O’Connor said: “On behalf of our local team here in South Africa I am delighted to receive this recognition from the wind energy industry. It is the result of more than six years of development work in South Africa and reflects the high standards of quality we apply to developing our wind and solar projects here. I am very proud of the very experienced local team we have here in South Africa which is supported by our strong international team. We are fully focused on the continued development of our portfolio of projects in South Africa which we look forward to delivering in order to help alleviate the country’s energy crises.”

At the ceremony, Mainstream colleagues also received awards recognizing their involvement in the SAWEA working groups; Eugene Marais – Chair of the Land Use working group and Raymond Takuba – Chair of the Logistics working group.

In addition, development managers Hein Reyneke and Mike Mangnall received awards for projects won under Round 4 of the REIPPPP, the 140MW Kangnas wind farm (Northern Cape) and 110MW Perdekraal wind farm (Western Cape) respectively.

To date Mainstream Renewable Power has been awarded 850MWs under the Government’s REIPPP:

Projects awarded under REIPPP Round 1 (now in commercial operation)

  • 138MW Jeffreys Bay Wind Farm located in the Eastern Cape.
  • 50MW De Aar Solar PV Farm located in the Municipality of Emthanjeni in the Northern Cape.
  • 50MW Droogfontein Solar PV Farm located near the town of Kimberley in the Northern Cape.

Projects awarded under Round 3 (these projects are under construction)

  • 140MW Khobab Wind Farm located in the District Municipality of Namakwa in the Northern Cape.
  • 140MW Loeriesfontein 2 Wind Farm located in the District Municipality of Namakwa in the Northern Cape
  • 80MW Noupoort Wind Farm located in the Local Municipality of Umsobomvu in the Northern Cape

Projects awarded under Round 4 (these projects are enroute to financial Close)

  • 140MW Kangnas Wind Farm located in the Municipality of Nama-Khoi in the Northern Cape.
  • 110MW Perdekraal East Wind Farm located in the Municipality of Witzenberg in the Western Cape

Alle Meldungen Von windfair.net


news in archive

Keyword Search

© smart dolphin Gmbh 1999 - 2022